Three Wheels on My Wagon…

I know that things have been a little quiet from the Diversity Project lately, so I thought I should make some time to post and let you all know that the Project is still making progress, albeit at a slightly slower pace than I would like. There have been a few reasons for that.

First, I defended the Project to my Gaines committee two weeks ago. Trying to get my defense paper done amidst all the other class work I had proved challenging–not least because alongside that I had to take two days out to take our youngest daughter to the KMEA Choir in Louisville. It was a lovely event, and the choir sang beautifully, but two days was a lot to lose and it knocked me off my game a little bit. Just as I was getting back into my stride, I was struck down with labrynthitis and a secondary middle ear infection. After a week on meclizine and antibiotics, I was finally able to walk around without feeling like I was going to fall over and right now I’m almost back up to speed. But now, I’m in the midst of a family emergency. As I write this, I’m hoping that we’re through the worst of it but I’m not sure. My dad is currently in an intensive care unit in England with what they’re pretty certain is bacterial meningitis. I won’t go into all the terrifying details other than to say that this is the second time he’s had to battle meningitis. We nearly lost him to it 10 years ago and here we are again, dealing with a second dose. In the last hour, though, I spoke to mum and it seems he might have turned a corner for the better this evening. All we can do is wait. If you have any spare wishes for my dad, I’d very much appreciate them. I’m trying to stay calm but there has been some serious flight-“browsing” going on and my passport is at the ready. Hoping, though, that it won’t come to an emergency trip across the Atlantic…

Anyway, that’s what’s been going on with me. The Project, though, continues to take shape–we’re still working on crocheting the borders which is proving to be a much longer and more intense job than I anticipated. Still, it’s Spring Break next week and assuming all is well back in England I’m hoping to spend the week crocheting as much as I can. In fact, if anyone wants to spend an hour or two in a coffee shop working on the borders with me, give me a nudge and I’ll buy you a coffee!

 

Leave a Reply

