Celebrate Diversity

I visited the Dunbar Memorial Garden on Saturday morning and finally met Rebecca W. Rebecca made the square for Hannah Landers that I featured in an earlier post, and she’s also made squares for Josh Shipman and for her son, Jesse Higginbotham. These young people, who are tragically no longer with us, continue to be a real inspiration. I’m proud that their stories will be told once again through this blanket.

The Memorial Garden is everything I imagined it would be, and more. It is one of those rare spaces that just exudes peace, even though when I visited on Saturday morning it was full of the noise of happy, rambunctious high school students. Their positivity and delight in each other’s company is infectious and I really saw why this is such a vital part of the school community at Dunbar.

Rebecca is one of the most warm and giving people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. From the tiny bit that I know of her, I suspect that she won’t necessarily thank me for putting her up front and center stage in this way so Rebecca, I’m sorry. But while I was at the garden two Dunbar alumni (and parents) stopped by to see not only the garden but Rebecca too, and it was abundantly clear that she holds a special place in her heart for every single student that she’s ever known. She knows their stories and keeps up with their accomplishments. In short, she cares, and it shows. I was privileged just to be there for a few short hours. I’ve posted some pictures of my visit and of the garden on the Project’s facebook page. Click here to have a look.  I will try, at some point this week, to create some kind of photo gallery on here, but I wanted to share the photographs as soon as possible. And, whilst I’m on the subject of photographs, I’ve also uploaded pictures from last week’s Knit-In to facebook. They can be found here.

What else is new? Well, I’m delighted to announce that we have another Knit-In planned. This time, we’re collaborating with the wonderful 6 Friends Cafe here in Lexington. The event will take place on Wednesday 19th October, between 5.30pm and 8.00pm. 6 Friends Cafe is on Kentucky Avenue–it’s part of the Woodland Park Triangle area and the Cafe itself is directly across from the parking lot for Woodland Park. If you haven’t been there before, this is a great opportunity to support both the Diversity Project and a fantastic local business. 6 Friends serve a gorgeous array of crepes and paninis, as well as perhaps the best gelato I have ever tasted in my life. It promises to be a fun evening, so please mark your diary and make plans to join us.

 

Leave a Reply

