I Wonder if Portia Knits?

That was one of the very random thoughts that occurred to me when I was walking across campus this morning. Lots of celebrities, both past and present, like to click their needles–just check out these blog posts from Eclecticiti and Cheaty Monkey to see the who’s who of the knit and purl world. Anyway, I found myself wondering whether or not the lovely Portia de Rossi knits–and if not, she should do,but then, that’s my advice for everyone that doesn’t knit. From curiously pondering what Portia does in her free time, it was natural that I’d then wonder about Ellen and hot on the heels of that came the surprising thought that maybe I should email Ellen about the Project. So I did.

I spent most of the day talking myself out of it, then back into it, then back out of it again. I’m sure that she gets thousands of emails every day all from people who are doing incredible things in the world, and as much as I have complete belief in this Project and the people contributing to it, I just wasn’t sure whether that would translate to anyone else–silly really when I remember just how many people across America have already thrown themselves into the Project. I must have visited her website a dozen times today, clicked on the link to email the show, and then closed the window in terror. I can’t quite say what made me shy away from sending an email, other than perhaps an irrational fear that there’s a slim chance that she might just get to hear about the Project and like it, and what then?

Earlier this evening, though, I finally managed to put those fears behind me. I wrote a very brief email (actually, the submission form only allows 1500 characters so I had to be brief) outlining the Project and its aims. I’m not sure I was entirely coherent–my email was the written equivalent of an over-excited 5 year old meeting Father Christmas–but I think I got the main thoughts down. I did remember to send a link to this website and to the podcast I did for WUKY yesterday, if nothing else, maybe she’ll like my English accent. But the email is sent now, and all I can do is wait, and hope.

If, though, anyone else feels like petitioning Ellen on the Project’s behalf, here’s a link to her “contact page”–I’d be thrilled if you told her about the Project from your perspective.

 

Leave a Reply

